Serengeti National Park

Serengeti which literally means “endless plains” is a UNESCO World Heritage site and was recently proclaimed a 7th worldwide wonder. The Serengeti is famed for its annual migration, when some six million hooves pound the open plains, as more than 200,000 zebra and 300,000 Thomson’s gazelle join the wildebeest’s trek for fresh grazing.

The Serengeti is an impressive 14,763km2 stretching from Lake Victoria in the west to the Kenyan border in the north. The Serengeti landscape is quite varied with flat-topped acacias (shrubs and trees), rolling plains and open grasslands that are bordered by hills and rocky formations. The plains are a liberating vast open space filled with sunburnt savannah grass that turns lush green after the rainy season.

The Serengeti is host to a staggering numbers of wildlife including migratory animals like the blue wildebeest, Thomson’s gazelles and zebras along with predators like the lions, spotted hyaenas, cheetahs, jackals, leopards which are attracted by this abundance of game. The Serengeti is also home to buffalo, giraffe, gorillas, hyraxes, agama lizards, over 100 varieties of dung beetles and over 500 bird species.

The Serengeti truly is a natural marvel that delights even the most intrepid of travellers.

Accommodation used by The Tourist Centre

  • Singita Faru Faru Lodge – Luxury
  • Singita Sasakwa Lodge – Luxury
  • Serengeti Simba Lodge – Mid-range
  • Lamai Serengeti – Luxury
Online Payments